Friday 26 November 2021

COVID-19: Canada enacts travel restrictions for southern Africa over "Omicron" variant

Global News in Canada talks about the new virus variant.

Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos announced Friday that Canada was enacting five COVID-19 travel measures involving seven countries in southern Africa, including Zimbabwe and South Africa, that would see foreign nationals who travelled through these countries barred from entering the country of Canada due to a new variant that had surfaced in the region.

The B.1.1.529 variant, also known as the "Omicron" variant, was certainly first detected in South Africa.

No comments:

Post a Comment