Sunday 14 March 2021

Spain: Covid-19 Coronavirus death toll is 72,258

Spain: Covid-19 Coronavirus death toll is 72,258

It seems that Spain Struggles to Contain Third Coronavirus Covid-19 Wave.

VOA News shows how vaccine delays and new virus strains threaten recovery.

In Spain, Curfew and other measures are continuing. Spain is under a nationwide curfew until early May 2021. People are only allowed out in that period to go to work, for education, to buy medicine, or care for elderly people or children.

The COVID-19 pandemic in Spain is part of the global pandemic of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) caused by severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2). The dangerous virus was first confirmed to have spread to Spain on 31 January 2020, when a German tourist tested positive for SARS-CoV-2 in La Gomera, Canary Islands. Post-hoc genetic analysis has shown that at least 15 strains of the virus had been imported, and community transmission began by mid-February. By 13 March, cases had been confirmed in all 50 provinces of the country.

A Spain lockdown was imposed on 14 March 2020. On 29 March, it was announced that, beginning the following day, all non-essential workers were ordered to remain at home for the next 14 days. By late March, the Community of Madrid has recorded the most cases and deaths in the country. Medical professionals and those who live in retirement homes have experienced especially high infection rates. On 25 March, the official death toll in Spain surpassed that of mainland China.

Provinces of Spain:

Province name - Capital

La Coruña - La Coruña
Álava - Vitoria
Albacete - Albacete
Alicante - Alicante
Almería - Almería
Asturias - Oviedo
Ávila - Ávila
Badajoz - Badajoz
Balearic Islands - Palma
Barcelona - Barcelona
Biscay - Bilbao
Burgos - Burgos
Cáceres - Cáceres
Cádiz - Cádiz
Cantabria - Santander
Castellón - Castellón de la Plana
Ciudad Real - Ciudad Real
Córdoba - Córdoba
Cuenca - Cuenca
Guipúzcoa - San Sebastián
Girona - Girona
Granada - Granada
Guadalajara - Guadalajara
Huelva - Huelva
Huesca -  Huesca
Jaén - Jaén
La Rioja - Logroño
Las Palmas - Las Palmas
León - León
Lleida - Lleida
Lugo - Lugo
Madrid - Madrid
Málaga - Málaga
Murcia - Murcia
Navarre - Pamplona
Ourense - Ourense
Palencia - Palencia
Pontevedra - Pontevedra
Salamanca - Salamanca
Santa Cruz de Tenerife - Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Segovia - Segovia
Seville - Seville
Soria - Soria
Tarragona - Tarragona
Teruel - Teruel
Toledo - Toledo
Valencia - Valencia
Valladolid - Valladolid
Zamora - Zamora
Zaragoza - Zaragoza

Time in Spain is interesting. Spain has 2 time zones and observes daylight saving time. Spain mainly uses Central European Time (GMT+01:00) and Central European Summer Time (GMT+02:00) in Peninsular Spain, the Balearic Islands, Ceuta, Melilla and plazas de soberanía.

The meaning of the flag of Spain is interesting. The flag of Spain is made up of colors red and yellow. Red represents the blood spilled by the bulls whereas the yellow represents the sand in the bullfighting arena. A second legend claims that the yellow represents the sun, whereas the red represents the bloodshed by the Spanish people.

Spain 2020 population is estimated at 46,754,778 people at mid year according to UN data. Spain population is equivalent to 0.6% of the total world population.

With an area of 505,990 km squared, Spain is the largest country in Southern Europe, the second-largest country in Western Europe and the European Union, and the fourth-largest country by area on the European continent.

The old name of Spain is Al-Andalus. Al-Andalus, also called Muslim Spain, Muslim kingdom that occupied much of the Iberian Peninsula from 711 ce until the collapse of the Spanish Umayyad dynasty in the early 11th century.

Spain "ruled the world" in the 16th century. The Spanish Empire existed. Habsburg Spain was a superpower and the center of the first global empire in the 16th century. It had a cultural golden age in the 17th century.

While there was no Biblical name for Spain, the people of the New Testament, in the later Roman period, would probably be familiar with the terms "Iberia" and "Hispania", being part of the empire themselves. That's probably the closest you'll get for a "Biblical name for Spain" if we discount the Tarshish theory.

The biggest geographic difference between Portugal and Spain is the size. Spain is around 5 times larger than Portugal. Both countries have Mediterranean climates, meaning they are generally temperate, with warm summers and mild winters.

Portugal (as a separate kingdom) existed before Spain. Spain was created from the marital union of the king of Aragon and the queen of Castille, this new kingdom became Spain. Portugal did not get into a similar union hence they stayed an independent kingdom. Spain became a country centuries after Portugal was formed.

These are some of the largest cities of Spain:

Madrid, Madrid
Barcelona, Catalonia
Valencia, Valencia
Seville, Andalusia
Zaragoza, Aragon
Málaga, Andalusia
Murcia, Murcia
Palma, Balearic Islands
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canary Islands
Bilbao, Basque Country
Alicante, Valencia
Cordova, Andalusia

No comments:

Post a Comment