Sunday 14 March 2021

Iran bans import of UK and US Covid-19 vaccines, saying they're 'completely untrustworthy'

Iran: Covid-19 Coronavirus death toll is 61,230

Iran bans import of UK and US Covid-19 vaccines, saying they're 'completely untrustworthy'

FRANCE 24 English shows that foreign companies will not be allowed to test Covid-19 vaccines on the Iranian people, President Hassan Rouhani said on Saturday, one day after the country’s supreme leader banned the import of UK- and US-produced jabs and said they were "completely untrustworthy."

Iran recently received the first consignment of the Chinese COVID-19 vaccine Sinopharm.

The cargo of 250,000 doses of the vaccine, donated by China, was handed over to the Health Ministry, officials said.

Iran seems to be on the verge of a 4th wave of the pandemic with a spike in new cases in recent weeks in some provinces.

Earlier in February, Iran had imported the Sputnik-V vaccine from Russia, which was administered to healthcare workers and other high-risk groups in the first phase of the rollout.

Iran also has plans to import some 17 million doses of vaccine from the WHO's COVAX channel beside countries like India and South Korea, in addition to co-producing a vaccine with Cuba.

Iran is also preparing to produce a homegrown vaccine. Two vaccines manufactured by domestic knowledge-based firms have already passed the human trial phase, expected to be ready by summer.

The COVID-19 pandemic in Iran is part of the global worldwide pandemic of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) caused by severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2). On 19 February 2020, Iran reported its first confirmed cases of infections in Qom. The virus may have been brought to the country by a merchant from Qom who had travelled to China.

In response to the Covid-19 coronavirus the government cancelled public events and Friday prayers; closed schools, universities, shopping centers, bazaars, and holy shrines; and banned festival celebrations.

Economic measures were also announced to help families and businesses.

The Iranian economy entered a third consecutive year of recession following the triple-shock of sanctions, oil market collapse and COVID-19. Gross Domestic Product (GDP) contracted by 6.8 percent in the Iranian calendar year 2019/2020 as a result of expiration of US sanctions waivers on Iran's oil exports.

Iran Standard Time (IRST) or Iran Time (IT) is the time zone used in Iran. Iran uses a UTC offset UTC+03:30. IRST is defined by the 52.5 degrees east meridian, the same meridian which defines the Iranian calendar and is the official meridian of Iran.

Between 2005 and 2008, by decree of President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, Iran did not observe daylight saving time (called Iran Daylight Time or IRDT). It was reintroduced from 21 March 2008.

The modern flag of Iran is a tri-colored green, white, red. Green represents several factors of the country. It symbolizes the Persian culture, its language, nature, growth, and vitality. White represents freedom and peace. Red symbolizes the blood of the martyr, vitality, and sophistication.

Iran 2020 population is estimated at 83,992,949 people at mid year according to UN data. Iran population is equivalent to 1.08% of the total world population.

Does Iran really have nuclear weapons? Iran maintains that it has never sought nuclear weapons and never would. It says its nuclear work only has civilian aims. Tehran began breaching the deal's curbs last year in a step-by-step response to President Donald Trump's withdrawal from the deal in May 2018 and the reimposition of USA sanctions.

The following information is according to the COVID-19 Dashboard by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University.

Total Global Deaths from Covid-19: 2,653,182

Countries with most Global Cases of Covid-19:

29,436,516 USA
11,483,370 Brazil
11,359,048 India
4,341,381 Russia
4,271,710 United Kingdom
4,131,874 France
3,223,142 Italy
3,183,704 Spain
2,879,390 Turkey
2,578,842 Germany
2,303,144 Colombia
2,195,722 Argentina
2,163,875 Mexico
1,906,632 Poland
1,746,953 Iran
1,529,420 South Africa
1,509,983 Ukraine
1,419,455 Indonesia
1,407,963 Peru
1,399,078 Czechia
1,172,916 Netherlands
914,595 Canada
891,110 Chile
859,709 Romania
818,977 Israel
814,257 Portugal
805,321 Belgium
758,184 Iraq
712,527 Sweden
621,498 Philippines
605,200 Pakistan
570,645 Switzerland
557,395 Bangladesh
516,490 Hungary
516,277 Serbia
493,568 Austria
488,937 Morocco
477,053 Jordan
447,284 Japan
426,397 United Arab Emirates
418,448 Lebanon
382,407 Saudi Arabia
347,641 Panama
337,503 Slovakia
323,763 Malaysia
302,323 Belarus
302,221 Ecuador
278,557 Bulgaria
275,231 Nepal
274,989 Georgia
273,521 Kazakhstan
259,004 Bolivia
251,045 Croatia
246,045 Dominican Republic
241,834 Tunisia
240,295 Azerbaijan
226,741 Ireland
221,151 Denmark
221,147 Greece
209,523 Kuwait
209,304 West Bank and Gaza
209,093 Costa Rica
205,385 Lithuania
204,463 Moldova
200,374 Slovenia
190,924 Egypt
182,679 Guatemala
180,014 Paraguay
178,385 Armenia
177,832 Honduras
175,467 Ethiopia
170,252 Qatar
160,657 Nigeria
146,867 Oman
145,379 Venezuela
144,993 Libya
142,160 Bosnia and Herzegovina
142,147 Burma
131,001 Bahrain
117,474 Albania
115,265 Algeria
113,236 Kenya
112,646 North Macedonia
101,373 China
95,635 Korea, South
93,781 Latvia
87,907 Sri Lanka
87,762 Ghana
86,850 Kyrgyzstan
84,807 Estonia
84,797 Zambia
83,693 Montenegro
80,567 Uzbekistan
80,440 Norway
76,070 Kosovo
71,691 Uruguay
66,869 Finland
64,516 Mozambique
62,086 El Salvador
61,472 Cuba
60,105 Singapore
57,503 Luxembourg
55,985 Afghanistan
41,200 Namibia
40,622 Cameroon
40,581 Uganda
39,651 Cyprus
37,653 Cote d'Ivoire
36,892 Senegal
36,484 Zimbabwe
34,098 Botswana
32,789 Malawi
30,873 Sudan
30,499 Jamaica
29,123 Australia
27,014 Congo (Kinshasa)
26,927 Thailand
26,535 Malta
21,572 Maldives
21,380 Angola
21,356 Madagascar
20,186 Rwanda
17,742 Guinea
17,438 Mauritania
17,237 Eswatini
16,660 Gabon
16,478 Syria
16,101 Cabo Verde
13,308 Tajikistan
12,632 Haiti
12,372 Burkina Faso
12,370 Belize
11,266 Andorra
10,530 Lesotho
9,429 South Sudan
9,329 Congo (Brazzaville)
9,190 Somalia
9,160 Guyana
9,024 Suriname
8,913 Mali
8,658 Bahamas
8,070 Togo
7,783 Trinidad and Tobago
6,562 Equatorial Guinea
6,537 Nicaragua
6,501 Benin
6,268 Djibouti
6,072 Iceland
5,023 Central African Republic
4,985 Gambia
4,860 Niger
4,309 Chad
4,126 San Marino
4,031 Saint Lucia
3,961 Mongolia
3,937 Sierra Leone
3,635 Comoros
3,447 Guinea-Bissau
3,421 Barbados
3,315 Seychelles
3,038 Eritrea
2,836 Yemen
2,612 Liechtenstein
2,554 Vietnam
2,461 Burundi
2,423 New Zealand
2,107 Monaco
2,078 Sao Tome and Principe
2,030 Liberia
1,819 Papua New Guinea
1,680 Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
1,305 Cambodia

No comments:

Post a Comment